Using scripts to fill in data and categorize from external files?

Tap Forms – Organizer Database App for Mac, iPhone, and iPad Forums Script Talk Using scripts to fill in data and categorize from external files?

Viewing 20 reply threads
  • Author

Brent S
    Participant

Hi Everyone. I am new to scripting, so want to see if this is possible. Imagine the following situation. You have 50,000 food recipes all in PDF form input into the Tap Forms Database, each PDF with a unique file name and in a field where it is a “File Attachment”. So, there are then 50,000 records in the db. Many fields have been added to the database, but are empty until you manually go in and populate them. Is it possible to use scripts to help populate the data?

For example, lets say outside TapForms you use Spotlight on the iMac to identify 60 PDF’s (recipes) that contained the words “Gummy Bear”. You make an Excel File (.csv) with those 60 unique file names. Can you now write a script that would reference those file names in a .csv file, find/look up the specific records in tapforms where those files are attached and then do two things:

a) choose a picklist field that already exists, and choose one of the presets. For example, if this was a list of meal choices like “Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert” the script would make it choose “Dessert” for each of those 60 records, but not any other records in the database

b) If you had a textfile field named KEYWORDS then have it add the term “Gummy Bear” to the list of keywords again just for those 60 records

If this is possible then I can see how scripting could help me and others categorize a very large database that would take a very long time to categorize manually. Any direction on what a script might look like would be extremely appreciated.

Thanks,
    Brent

November 9, 2020 at 8:27 PM #42537

Daniel Leu
    Participant