setup Tap Forms on external drive? (how to)

Tap Forms – Organizer Database App for Mac, iPhone, and iPad Forums Using Tap Forms setup Tap Forms on external drive? (how to)

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

jeff wolfram
    Participant

Hello all, I’m brand new to Tap Forms and I would like to set it up where it is located on an external drive. I’ve search through the forum and apologize if I missed it but am hoping to find instructions on how to do this. Not looking to save a backup on an external hoping to have the entire database run from an external, example would be setting up iTunes so everything points to that drive not the internal ones.

I’ve recently done a clean install so the slate is clean and I’m not trying to import any info from a previous Tap Forms Database. Using Apple’s OS 12.4. If anyone could point me towards the instructions that would be very appreciated.

Thanks
    Jeff

June 16, 2022 at 9:31 AM #47492

tonyt
    Participant

Found this on he web if it’s any help. Just a simple Google…

You can store and run applications in the non-standard /Application location on OS X, which means you can keep things on your external drive and run them from there.

You just have to be aware of the limitations of doing it this way:

The applications and data on the drive won’t be available when it’s not connected.

Seems obvious but this can come up in surprising ways so I think it’s worth saying here. Let’s say, for example, that you have a text editor installed on your external drive and it’s the default application for text files. When you double click on a text file when the drive is not connected you’ll get an error about the application not being found. You’ll need to right click and select an alternate application in that case.
    The bandwidth, especially the sustained rates, for accessing the data and applications on this drive is limited to the connection method.