Script for Printing

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Roy Helsing
    Participant

I am new to TAP, and made a simple relational database for a lost of music I can play, attached to the genres that relate to that music. I want to be able to print a report for my customers that lists each genre and under it, all song titles that are related tot hat genre. It appears the thinly way to do that iw with a script – which I read about at length yesterday only to decide Java Script is not in my wheel house. Does anyone have a simple script they use to list related items under a field that could share? I think i am able to figure out how to replace the fields in someone script with my one. I am looking for a report that reads like this:

GENRE 1
    Song 1
    Song 15
    Song 432
    Genre 2
    Song 15
    Sonf 321
    Genre 3
    Song 1
    Song 12

July 17, 2020 at 8:28 PM #41356

Brendan
    Keymaster

Hi Roy,

Maybe you don’t need a script to do this. Have you tried just printing out the Default Layout and see what kind of output you get?

However, you can create a new field and select Script as the Field Type. Then select your Song Title field from the list of fields on the Script Editor. Then double-click on the Child Records Loop Snippet and Tap Forms will write the code for you to loop through all of the Songs for the selected record. Then all you need to do is concatenate them together into a single string and return that.

Something like:

function SongTitles() {

var songs_id = 'fld-1ad42e9404674124aa6871c367249f1d';
    	var song_title_id = 'fld-177726d9d3b44645941e6d6488bcfbd1';
    	var songs = record.getFieldValue(songs_id);
    	var song_titles = [];

for (var index = 0, count = songs.length; index < count; index++){
         	var song_title = songs[index].getFieldValue(song_title_id);
    		if (song_title) {
    			song_titles.push(song_title);
    		}
    	}
    	return song_titles.join("\n");
    }

SongTitles();
    July 17, 2020 at 8:29 PM #41357