Scanning Book's ISBN number

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

Matthew Johnson
    Participant

Has anyone successfully made any templates that have scripted-in the ability to simply scan a book’s ISBN number and it fetches all of the book’s info and autofills out the form? I’m a compete beginner with Java, so that may be a bit much for a first time Java project. This could speed up the process of keeping a record of all of our books a bit easier.

I think Brendan posted a script that worked this way for movies, and it worked rather well (except for the photo field), once I pasted my Field ID’s into the right spots. I haven’t seen anyone do this yet with ISBN though.

October 17, 2019 at 6:16 PM #37209

Daniel Leu
    Participant

Hmm… I never tried. Could be a fun project. BTW, the script language is called javascript. Java is a totally different programming language.

To get started, you might want to take the movies example and adjust it to work with the books api at https://openlibrary.org/dev/docs/api/books.

October 17, 2019 at 7:37 PM #37210

Daniel Leu
    Participant

This was a fun little project. It looks like the ISBN record is not the same for all books. Specially foreign books. So maybe there are other foreign reverse ISBN services that provide better infos.

var isbn_id = 'fld-274d1f7125404b6fb066fab21f67f834';
    var title_id = 'fld-f46fd341844849b1ad91d8c20712cefb';
    var subtitle_id = 'fld-cb24da764ce644bea8a24decef8146ce';
    var author_id = 'fld-67a6fcecfce945d0ba16fcb5b5e63001';
    var published_date_id = 'fld-672306e2df2f42488e2d1975df1de3e3';
    var url_id = 'fld-aaa8aa064e43416f80318a0a9e3a2470';
    var thumbnail_url_id = 'fld-8eeba1cd75c84555a51fe7f0dd273dcf';
    var description_id = 'fld-23b3241169fb41829b4cc26852dae873';
    var thumbnail_id = 'fld-41d3474969ba4a21ae5360148cf5444b';

function fetchProductInfo(isbn) {
    	var url = 'https://www.googleapis.com/books/v1/volumes?q=isbn:' + isbn + '&format=json';