Record creator, by device, or username.

Tap Forms – Organizer Database App for Mac, iPhone, and iPad Forums Script Talk Record creator, by device, or username.

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author

Stephen
    Participant

Hi,

I’m a real newbie at related databases period, but with help I’ve had some success & I’m understanding more, but I have another issue that after much time searching these forums, reading the 101 & 102 etc. and many attempts is still not coming right, so a steer would be really appreciated.

I’ve created a new form for notes as a child of the main form using a 1:many.
    I’d like to track who created the note record & who last made a modification to it.

The later is solved easily with the Modified by device field type, but I’m struggling to set the original creator with a fixed value. My original thinking was a calc or script that tested if a text field for “Created by:” was empty and referencing the Modified by device value if empty & ‘undefined’? if not?

It doesn’t seem possible to reference that field type within a calculation or script, at least not in a way that appears obvious to me?

Do I need to think about this in a different way?

Thanks, Stephen.

January 9, 2021 at 12:18 PM #43137

Sam Moffatt
    Participant

I don’t see the modified by field in the script editor link, however you can grab the field ID from just under the description field in the field editor panel. You can then use that with record.getFieldValue and that seemed to work properly for me to retrieve the value that I expected in the quick test I did. There might be a way of convincing a calculation field to get at it, but for myself I use a script field for this particular purpose.

You can also cheat with a script field and use it to set the value automatically:

var self = record.getFieldValue('fld-991082c160224a12a87151cf87aaec93');
    var modified = record.getFieldValue('fld-b7b336c4acc7406786eecc8a7b9f75b9');

self ? self : modified;