Q about Fetch Movie Data from Web Service example

Tap Forms – Organizer Database App for Mac, iPhone, and iPad Forums Script Talk Q about Fetch Movie Data from Web Service example

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author

Peter Wolf
    Participant

I’m new to this. Can someone please explain where the long strings within single quotes in the first few lines of the example come from? I want to make this as a demo in order to figure out how it works so as to apply to my problem.

October 15, 2019 at 4:55 PM #37136

Daniel Leu
    Participant

Those are the field identifiers in your form. It would be better if the variable names in this example code ended with ‘_id’ as they do when you create them in the script editor,

October 16, 2019 at 1:54 AM #37147

Brendan
    Keymaster

Excellent suggestion. I probably wrote that script before I defaulted to appending “_id” to the field titles.

I’ve just updated the manual.

October 16, 2019 at 8:16 AM #37152

Daniel Leu
    Participant

Nice! Readability is so much better.

October 16, 2019 at 9:23 AM #37154

Peter Wolf
    Participant

Thanks for the replies but can you go back a step or two? Are the field identifiers generated automatically? Where can they be found?

October 16, 2019 at 10:35 AM #37157

Daniel Leu
    Participant

From the documentation:

Please note that the field IDs in the above script (e.g. movie_title_id = ‘fld-….’) are unique to the form this script was written for. You would need to use your own field IDs from your own form to make this script work.

You create them inside the script editor by selecting the field and then clicking on the ID button.

Brendan, it might be helpful to update the screen captures of the script editor as well to show all the buttons available right now.

October 16, 2019 at 12:18 PM #37160

Peter Wolf
    Participant

Many thanks Daniel, I’ll try it!

November 6, 2019 at 1:25 AM #37843

Peter Wolf
    Participant