Protect Form (not Record) from Deletion

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Chris Jones
    Participant

Hi there. I’ve been using this product for a few years now and have been very happy with it overall. There’s been one thing that’s been bugging me for a while, and I’m wondering if perhaps it’s just due to me not fully understanding how the application works.

I realize that you can lock a form so that a specific record cannot be deleted, but what protections can be put in place to protect the form and all of the records associated with it? I have spent countless hours working on a specific form, with over 22,000 records in it. And it seems like if I (or somebody else) wanted to destroy untold hours of work, all I have to do is right click the form and choose “delete” and it’s all gone (which cannot be undone). Isn’t there a way to prevent me from doing this accidentally?

I realize I can create backups, which I do, however those take quite some time and I just do those periodically (it’s several GB). It’s not practical to create them on a daily basis. I can’t help but feel that there must be a safeguard in place to prevent me from deleting the form itself. Also, if the form is deleted, does that mean all of the records are gone, or are they buried under the hood somewhere and I can create a new form and rebuild it, referencing the records I had created previously.

Sorry for being longwinded and if this is something fundamental that I should already understand about how this application works, but from what I can tell, I can delete three years worth of work with one errant mis-click, which I find difficult to believe.

Thanks!

June 5, 2022 at 2:04 PM #47436

Brendan
    Keymaster

On the Mac version you can enable access controls to prevent you from deleting a form and all its records.

Select the form, then click the Form button on the toolbar.

Then scroll all the way down to the bottom on the form properties panel.