Need Relationship Advice

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author

gigiz
    Participant

Hello – I’m an author…using tap forms for a myriad of things and love it, but I’ve never tried using relationships before and I don’t know how to do it serve my needs.

What I’m trying to do at the moment is create forms for brainstorming and outlining my novels. *cough – what an author procrastinating writing her novel – looks like*

Can anyone help?

—-

The first form I created is called “Outlining Worksheet”, uses Blake Snyder’s Save the Cat methodology. I can use it to brainstorm plot points and fill in gaps as I think of them.

So, as an example, here’s a tiny part of my table setup.

Table Name = Outlining Worksheet

Working Title – (Text)
    Series Title – (Text)
    Word Count – (Number)
    Genre – (Text)

Act 1 – (Section Header)

Opening Image – (Note)
    Theme Stated – (Note)
    Set-Up – (Note)
    Catalyst – (Note)
    Debate – (Note)

And on and on this form goes, I won’t spell out the rest – you get the picture.

Then – I want to take that rough outline and turn it into a chapter by chapter roadmap – so here’s the form I want to link and then subsequently autofill with the data from my Outlining Worksheet form.

So –

Table Name = Chapter Roadmap

Working Title – (Text) – these fields will all equal the fields from above – either I can enter them manually or they can autofill in someway, I really don’t care about this part too much – except to point out that the field “Working Title” will be essentially my “Primary Key” if I were using, say Microsoft Access (which I do know a little about using relationships in).
    Series Title – (Text)
    Word Count – (Number)
    Genre – (Text)

Act 1 – (Section Header)

>>setting this all up in layouts, so off to the side there I want there to be autofill fields pulling the NOTE data from “Outlining Worksheet” into the bracketed areas below<<

Chapter 1 – (Note) –> {Opening Image – autofill from Outlining Worksheet}