Nearby Sync Issues

Viewing 19 reply threads
  • Author

scneophyte
    Participant

Thought I would give nearby sync a shot but I have discrepancies with the syncing. Right now my ipad has 5 and 27 records in two forms but my mac has 8 and 28.

I’ve tried closing / reopening both documents but I can’t get the sync to work reliably.

Since I am relatively new to syncing, is there something that I could be doing wrong or better?

July 4, 2017 at 7:35 PM #23648

scneophyte
    Participant

I fully quit the app on both devices, reopened, looked at the sync options on the ipad, returned to My Forms and it had synced.

Am I expecting the records to update quicker than is possible?

July 5, 2017 at 1:09 PM #23650

Brendan
    Keymaster

Well the problem with Nearby sync is you have to have the document opened on each device at the same time for sync to work. That’s not the case with cloud syncing, which IMHO is far more convenient. Just closing the document and re-opening should also establish a new connection to the other device. Maybe at the time you were doing that they weren’t able to connect to each other, but then they did after you reopened. Not sure. In general if both devices are successfully talking to each other, sync should happen within about 5 seconds.

July 23, 2017 at 12:58 PM #23754

scneophyte
    Participant

I just changed back from iCloud sync to nearby sync since iCloud sync was unreliable. I experienced nearby syncing issues again until I quit the device on the Mac as well as the iPad.

The symptom:

• Records added to iPad would successfully nearby sync with Mac
    • Editing records would sync from Mac to iPad with (mostly) no issues
    • Editing records from iPad would not sync to Mac

The only workaround I found was to delete the Mac from the iPad sync screen and then readd it. This eventually stopped working too. I had quite the app on the iPad several times. Closing it on the Mac seemed to be the fix.