Lots of problems with Layout Designer

Tagged: 

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

Randolph Burgess
    Participant

Hi,

I’m new to Tap Forms – I am running 2.1.1 (459) on Mountain Lion 10.8.5 on a 2010 Macbook Pro. I have used a fair number of database programs in the past, plus I have used a fair number of layout programs, e.g. InDesign, Pages, etc. But having just now attempted to create a custom layout for what will be a fairly simple database of professional contacts, I find that the Layout Designer does not seem friendly at all. Here are some of my problems:

1) The form name appears at the top of the Default Layout, but it does not appear anywhere on a newly made custom layout, nor does it appear in the list of Fields. I can see the form name at the top of the page when I press Command P to obtain a print preview, but shouldn’t it be both visible and editable when I am designing the layout?

2) There appears to be no way to duplicate the Default Layout, e.g. the Layout > Duplicate Layout command in the menu is grayed out when displaying the Default Layout.

3) When working with text fields in a Printer layout, labels and fields seem extremely difficult to align with each other vertically. I.e. there is no way to easily align text baselines. Alignment seems to be based entirely on aligning ‘shapes’ (the enclosing ‘boxes’ and so forth). This is not adequate.

4) Also for a Printer layout, it would be nice to zoom in and get a better view of what is otherwise a very small page. I can zoom in using the standard trackpad gesture, but when I zoom in far enough that the edges of the page are not visible, suddenly I can no longer select objects or work with them. I would really hope this gets fixed!

5) It would also be nice to have a visible grid along with a working zoom, for manual alignment of things like text baselines.

Any help appreciated.

– Randy Burgess

April 4, 2014 at 8:27 AM #9635

Randolph Burgess
    Participant