Layout that uses more than one form

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author

Rebecca Kayne
    Participant

Hi, I’m new to Tap Forms and hope someone can help. I have two forms – a Customer form containing customer name and address and a second form for Customer Orders, which will have many records for each customer. They are linked by a join on a unique customer field that appears in both forms and this seems to be working well. I did this instead of using a One to Many because I wanted the the records to link automatically rather than having to use the check mark to select the records. This is all fine so far.

Here’s my problem. I want to create a layout that allows me to print out a Customer Order, but also include the address information from my Customer form. Is this possible? Thanks!

May 6, 2018 at 2:28 PM #28577

Brendan
    Keymaster

Hi Rebecca,

So the issue is that a Join Link Type is treated like an automated many-to-many relationship. That means that the parent and child records are both displayed as tables because there can be more than one parent for each child and each parent can have more than one child.

At the moment it would seem the only solution would be to put the address also on the Customer Order form. I know that defeats the purpose of what you’re trying to do.

What you would need is some way of picking out a particular parent linked record from the child record in order to display that. In my next update of Tap Forms I’m adding a new Scripting function which will let you write some JavaScript to extract data from records and return that to the Script field. It’s just like a Calculation field, but much more powerful. So that might work for you actually. Because with that you would be able to pick out just one parent record and then return a concatenated string of the address values to display.

May 7, 2018 at 2:04 AM #28586

Rebecca Kayne
    Participant