iCloud sync messed up

Viewing 21 reply threads
  • Author

tonyt
    Participant

Hi

I am on Big Sur and Forms latest and iPadOS 14.8.1

Over the last couple of days my sync between MacBook, iMac, iPad and iPhone has got really messed up. Spinning sync arrows, numbers counting up in the sync records info in their thousands. Then it stops, then starts again. Changes sometimes show, other times not. Something has got in a muddle, me probably, but I just don’t know what to do. I DO know I have an up to date master copy of my data, several forms in one document, on my iMac!

I have tried disabling sync on all devices, deleting from iCloud on one device and using send to repopulate the other devices from my iMac. This has bee a partial success except for the MacBook. I used send to and my document of 170mb show up as 40mb and is empty. When I have sent tit it opens OK, as per the iMac version. But when I close and reopen the document it is empty and a much smaller size.

I know this is muddled, but hey, so am I!

So, best way to go?

Uninstall all apps from all devices except for iMac, reinstall and try using send again?
    Try to sort out MacBook problem as at the moment the others are behaving?
    Any thoughts / methods to sort this? If so, please make them as detailed as possible so I can follow them step by step as I am not good at this sort of thing.

If I delete apps to restart from scratch, do I just delete the app from the apps folder, or are there other folders I should also delete on the MacBook? Presumably, if I have to delete from iPhone and iPad, although I don’t want to, that single delete will be sufficient. If I do delete from iPad, will I have to rebuild all my searches I wonder?

Sorry for such a long and rambling post but as you see I am confused and don’t know what to do next. Happy to provide any more info I can and look forward to hearing.

Cheers….

January 10, 2022 at 4:12 PM #46272

Sam Moffatt
    Participant