How To Use Tap Forms to Match Donations to Projects

Tap Forms – Organizer Database App for Mac, iPhone, and iPad Forums Using Tap Forms How To Use Tap Forms to Match Donations to Projects

Tagged: 

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

Andrew C
    Participant

Background: We’re a nonprofit building houses. I am fairly new to tapforms and using databases in general. I use Tap Forms to track progress for each house we build – one record per house, with fields for type, cost, date started etc.

We also need to keep track of donations received towards houses. Some larger donations will cover multiple houses, some a single house house, and some (comparatively) smaller donations must be grouped together for a single house.

Currently, I keep track of donations received on a spreadsheet, and manually group or split them up to allocate to each house (and then manually fill this data into the “donor” field on tapforms).

My Question: If I created a second tapforms database for tracking donations (or a separate set of records), what would be the best way of linking, or allocating donations to houses?

I would need to be able to see, on each house record, which donations were allocated to it, as well as when looking at my list of donations, see which houses were covered. I’d also need to be able to filter donations to see which were still unallocated.

Any suggestions appreciated!

May 26, 2023 at 7:03 PM #49484

Brendan
    Keymaster

Hi Andrew,

You would want two forms. Houses and Donations. Your Houses form would link to your Donations form by adding a Link to Form field to your Houses form. I’m thinking maybe a many-to-many relationship because you said a single donation could span multiple houses and a single house can have multiple donations. That’s the definition of many-to-many basically.

With this setup, you could click on any Donation and see which houses it was applied to. And inversely, you can click on any House and see what the donations were.