Encryption Update

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author

Katie Stafford
    Participant

I am new to Tap Forms and just want to make sure that the cloud-based sync service is a secure means of transferring and storing sensitive client data. There are older discussions about this but I think changes have been made since then both in Tap Forms and at IBM’s Cloudant service. Based on the current Cloudant documentation, it sounds like the data is encrypted on their end:

Security, Encryption, and Compliance

All plans are provided on servers with at-rest disk encryption. Access is encrypted over a network connection by using HTTPS. For more detail, see DBaaS Security.

The plans also offer Security Compliance Certification. HIPAA compliance requires a single-tenant environment, so request this environment before provisioning.

So if I turn on encryption via the Tap Forms Security Preferences and enable cloud sync, can I be assured that my data is secure?

Thanks!

PS. I have been searching for a long time for such a versatile, easy-to-use database program for Macs – this looks great! There are a number of additional features I’d love to see, of course, but finally I have found a program worth working with.

January 5, 2017 at 6:36 PM #20740

Brendan
    Keymaster

Hi Katie,

Can you point me to the link to that information? I haven’t heard of any changes to the Cloudant multi-tenant server with regards to encryption. As far as I know, it’s not encrypted. However, I’m definitely not “in the loop” with regards to what they’re doing, so I suppose it’s possible.

I’m glad that you’re liking Tap Forms!

Brendan

January 5, 2017 at 10:03 PM #20745

Katie Stafford
    Participant

Ah, the documentation I read was referring to the Bluemix service, not DBaaS:
    https://docs.cloudant.com/bluemix.html

So does this mean it is still likely that data stored by Tap Forms 5 on the cloud is unencrypted?

January 6, 2017 at 12:21 AM #20748

Brendan
    Keymaster