Dates and Searching Dates

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Ryan Griffin
    Participant

I am new to this program so forgive me.

#1 I have transferred a database over from Bento which contains more than 4,000 Diary records. Each record has a date attached to it in the date field and an entry etc in a different field. In Bento the dates were listed as 1/3/19 but in Tap 5 they are now Jan 3, 2019. How do I get them all to be 1/3/19 again? (It’s easier for me to search for them in 1/3/19 format).

#2 How do I seach for a date but not the year. For example if I want to see what happened on January 3 each year (not just 1/3/19) how do I do a search that will show that date?

#3 Lets say I want to teach for each time my friend Zack came over. How can I search and get a list of all the entries that have the name “Zack” typed into them?

Thanks in advance for this novice.

January 4, 2019 at 2:00 AM #33148

Brendan
    Keymaster

Hi Ryan,

#1:
    1. Click on the Form button to reveal the form inspector panel.
    2. Click the Fields tab.
    3. Click your Date field.
    4. Set the Date Format property. It’s at the bottom of the field properties inspector panel.

#2:
    Use a Saved Search to search for dates. Click the filter button just to the left of the main Search field. But you can’t search a part of a date if you’re trying to search a Date field. What you’ll need to do is add a Calculation field that will use the DATE(X; "dd/MM") function to extract a portion of the date out into a field. Then you can search on that field. In the above format you would search for 03/01 if you wanted to search for the 3rd of January for any year. Make sure the Calculation field returns a Text value.

#3:
    Just type Zack into the Search field for your form. Or you could add a Saved Search for that too so Tap Forms remembers the search and then you can just click on the search beneath the form.

Hope that helps!

Brendan

January 4, 2019 at 11:00 AM #33165

Ryan Griffin