Changing Record Focus & Sorting

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

Larry Stoter
    Participant

Hi,

I’m afraid I’m new to Tap Forms, although I am familiar with several other database applications – mainly ProVue’s Panorama.

I’m also a beginner at JavaScript. I’ve done quite a bit of coding in the past with languages like Basic and Fortran, and in Excel. I have used JavaScript at a very basic level in web page designs but that’s it so sorry if some of my questions are very basic.

How do I move the focus of a script between records? That is, what is the scripting equivalent of the menu commands Goto … Next Record/Previous Record/First Record/Last Record? I want to get a field value from one record and add/subtract to a different field in a previous record. I’m aware there is an issue regarding how the records might be sorted, which leads me to my second question …

How do I script sorting of records?

Thanks,

Larry

January 1, 2020 at 3:55 PM #39056

Brendan
    Keymaster

Hi Larry,

You can’t directly access the Go To functions in Tap Forms from the Scripting engine.

But you can tell Tap Forms to select a record. However, it’s generally only used once in a script.

But instead of having the UI select different records, you can just get the records directly from your script.

Sorting is controlled by the Forms and Saved Searches. So whatever sort order you’ve specified on your Form or Saved Search is what will be used within the Script engine.

If you want to find out what your previous record is, you need to first get the list of records. Then you’ll need to pick out which record you want.

For example:

function Previous_Record() {

var records;
    	var previousRecord = record;

try {
    		if (search != undefined) {
    			records = search.getRecords();
    		} else {
    			records = form.getRecords();
    		}

var indexOfCurrent = records.indexOf(record);

if (indexOfCurrent > 0) {
    			previousRecord = records[indexOfCurrent - 1];
    		}