Calculation IF based on a Pick List Value

Tap Forms – Organizer Database App for Mac, iPhone, and iPad Forums Using Tap Forms Calculation IF based on a Pick List Value

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

Wayne Powell
    Participant

(I’m just beginning to use Tap Forms in a more sophisticated way than I have before).

I am trying to replicate a Calculation Form, such that you enter a Value, and a Unit, and Then have a calculation (or calculations) output conversion values.

So I am thinking something like this:

Value = 12
    Unit (from pick list) = “inches”
    Calculation Result (in Feet) = 1 Foot

SO I am thinking something like this (but not suer if it can be done or I have the syntax incorrect or?

IF([Unit] = “inches”, [Value]/12, “N/A”)

Also, can I cascade the IFs such that I more or less replicate a complex If/Else calculation:

IF([Unit] = “inches”, [Value]/12, IF([Unit] = “yard”, [Value]*3))

Ultimately it would great to be able to utilize TWO pick lists so I can pick both the Input Units and the Output Units.

I’m not great at programming scripts in JavaScript or how to implement them in Tap Forms (yet, If I was going to do that I’d probably switch platforms and learn to create an App in Swift.)

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

December 26, 2019 at 12:53 AM #38920

Brendan
    Keymaster

Hi Wayne,

The IF() function takes 3 parameters. The first parameter MUST be a numeric comparison, not a textual comparison.

For textual comparisons, use the IFEQUAL(X; Y; A; B), where X and Y must be textual and A and B can be anything that matches the Result Type specified on the formula editor. It means if X = Y, then return A, otherwise return B.

So you would do:

IFEQUAL([Unit]; "inches"; FORMAT([Value] / 12; "0.00"); "N/A")