Automatically link photos to database and export them?

Tap Forms – Organizer Database App for Mac, iPhone, and iPad Forums Using Tap Forms Automatically link photos to database and export them?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

fcteacher
    Participant

Hi!

I’m completely new to Tap Forms and looking for a solution similar to a very old Applescript workaround I had.

I often take photos that I link to persons in my database. When I want to send them to the printshop, it can happen that an image contains 3 persons, so I need 3 prints (1 for each person).

I once had an Applescript for my PPC database that did the job, but since I had to upgrade, all this is a thing of the past.

My hope is, that I can use Tap Forms to:
    1.) Enter all the persons data (=> should be no problem)
    2.) Enter the numbers of the fotos (e.g. IMG_1234, IMG_2345, etc.) in a data field (=> should be no problem)
    3.) Use those database entrys to automatically link the files to the database (=> no idea if this is possible)
    4.) Export the files in a way, where I know how many persons need a print of this file (e.g. labeled folders or files) (=> no idea if this is possible)

I would greatly appreciate any feedback to my pretty complex problem…
    Thank you in advance!

May 11, 2016 at 3:17 PM #16635

Brendan
    Keymaster

Hi,

I think for #2 and #3 you’re really referring to importing the photos into the Tap Forms database. You can achieve this, but you need to put the photo file names into a CSV file that you import. You also need to drag the photos into a special Photos folder location within the Tap Forms Documents area.

On the Mac version that’s here:

~/Library/Containers/com.tapforms.mac/Data/Documents/Photos

So if you setup a CSV file like this:

Photo Name     File Name
    The Terminator terminator-cover.jpg
    Hunger Games   hunger-games-cover.jpg