Tracking Time Duration (new from Bento)

Tagged: ,

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

daiya
    Participant

Hello, I am new to Tap Forms and having problems understanding how TF tracks a duration of time in my database. Reading the manual has not clarified. I have two specific issues:

Context:
    Just yesterday, I moved over from Bento/Snow Leopard to Tap Forms/Sierra. I am using the trial version of TF5. It appears that I have successfully imported my Bento templates, for the most part.

Issue 1) I had an Hours Worked field in Bento, which allowed me to track how long each project took me. In Bento, I had to enter it like so: 3h 20m; 10h 15m; 30m; etc. In TF5, that full data shows up and sums properly in the multi-column list view, but in the individual layout record, it is truncated to show just the hours, eg, 3, 10, 0. What is going on?

Issue 2) I cannot get the Hours Worked field (a Number field) to behave. In the individual layout record, it won’t accept data at all. I have tried changing the Number Format, I have experimented with entering various formats and all I ever get is “invalid data”, or, it just changes Hours Worked to 0 without telling me. In the multi-column list view, it will accept data, and I finally got “:30” to produce “30 mins” (although “30 mins” produces “30 hours”, “.5” produces “5 mins”, which seems bizarre). The individual record, however, declares “:30” is invalid, with the Number Format set to Time (hrs, mins).

thanks for any assistance!
    Daiya

August 13, 2017 at 12:13 PM #23983

Mike Schwartz
    Participant

Dayia,