Summarize all entries of a field

Tagged: ,

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

Reiner Siegmund
    Participant

Hi, I’m a newbie. I didn’t find an answer to my following problem in the forum:
    I use a number field “money” (with currency). Can I summarize all entries of this field e.g. in a calculation field and a formula like sum(money) ?

April 25, 2014 at 10:59 PM #9733

Brendan
    Keymaster

Hello Reiner,

Yes, you can do this.

Go to the Edit Form screen, then tap on Calculation (on iOS) and then tap on a field you want to perform an aggregate calculation on then select a calculation type (total, minimum, maximum, and average).

On the Mac version you can either have one global calculation, or a separate calculation for each different field that supports that (e.g. number, calculation, rating, or checkmark). You also need to click on the little sigma button when viewing the multi-column list view to tell Tap Forms to show the calculations row. You’ll see all your aggregate calculations displayed there.

Thanks!

Brendan

April 26, 2014 at 1:28 AM #9735

Reiner Siegmund
    Participant

Hello Brendan,
    thanks for your quick replay!
    I can express myself in English poorly. therefore have I created a graphic, what I want to do. I can not find this sigma button from which you write.
    Regards,
    Reiner

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    April 26, 2014 at 4:03 PM #9738

Brendan
    Keymaster

Hello Reiner,

Oh I see. It’s currently only available on the main records list at the moment. However, if you set a Calculation field and Calculation type on your linked form, Tap Forms will display the results of the one calculation where you are looking.

You can set that on the Edit Form sheet. Look for “Calculation”.

Thanks!

Brendan

Attachments:
    September 15, 2016 at 8:18 AM #19551

Christopher Powers
    Participant

I have a budget at work… several categories.