Script to Add File Alias?

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author

Ricard Casals
    Participant

First of all, thank you for this excellent program.
    I have a form with a lot of records: 10 years, day by day, one photo per day. At the moment I prefer that the images are outside of Tap Forms, and now they are, as an alias, in a “web-website” field.
    I’m new to Javascript and I’m trying – probably wrongly – to copy the link in the “web-website” field to a “File-Attachment” field, with this script, trying in 2 ways:

function CC1 () {
    // Get image-link-from-web-field
    let image_id = 'fld-8f9c8612cbc04ebfb422576213cebf74';
    let image_link = record.getFieldValue (image_id);

// way A - Copy to file-attach-field-as an alias
    record.addFileFromUrlToField (image_link, 'fld-05f12a9a7da74079b354a02e7c5bb305');

// way B - Copy to file-attach-field-as an alias
    //record.setFieldValue('fld-05f12a9a7da74079b354a02e7c5bb305 ', image_link);

form.saveAllChanges ();
    }
    CC1 ();

What am I trying to do is possible? Or should it be done manually by clicking “Add File Alias”icon?

Thanks a lot! Ricard Casals

March 8, 2022 at 8:36 AM #46960

Daniel Leu
    Participant

The first approach is the way to go. But to attach a file as an alias, you need one additional parameter:

record.addFileFromUrlToField(url, file_field_id, {"alias" : true});

• This reply was modified 2 years, 1 month ago by Daniel Leu.
    March 8, 2022 at 9:38 AM #46962

Ricard Casals
    Participant

Thanks, Daniel, for this quick response. But I tried the proposed code and it doesn’t work. Is it possible that I wrote something wrong?

record.addFileFromUrlToField (image_link, 'fld-05f12a9a7da74079b354a02e7c5bb305', {"alias": true});

March 8, 2022 at 11:07 AM #46964

Daniel Leu
    Participant

I just tried it myself. I can add a file but as soon as I add the alias parameter, the file alias is not added :(

Something for Brendan to look at.

March 8, 2022 at 11:09 AM #46965

Ricard Casals