Probably a stupid question

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author

Daniel Kefford
    Participant

I am very new to tapforms having just downloaded the trial on my Mac and then just bought the iOS version this morning and all my playing so far has been on iPhone.

Basically I want to use it to keep a database of movies but not really in the sense of a standard movie database. I basically want to keep track of which tracks on a blu ray disc are which.

so I basically backup all my physical discs and either store them as entire backup folders or ISO  for playback in home theatre. I also sometimes make an mkv instead and one of the issue with creating an mkv file from a blu ray disc is that a blu ray disc is full of playlist and video files and they are joined up in a certain way to give you the episode or movie you want to watch. If you don’t have the menus (because you are trying to pull a movie or an episode out of the whole disc and save it as a single mkv file) then it can be hard to keep a track of which playlist is the one you want. Once I have figured this out I want to keep the data.

so basically I have a video form which represent a movie or episode or equivalent. That form has some fields (eg. mpls, title, type etc). The mpls is the playlist file that is the one I care about in this instance. An mpls file links 1 or multiple m2ts files together to give you the video you want. So I have a table inside the form as well with the list of segments that make up this video. So far so good.

Then each m2ts file contains a number of streams (video, audio and maybe subtitles). Right now I have this as another table.

ok, so far so good.

So, now I can have another form for a physical disc that can link to a number of these video forms to represent the individual videos I care about on that disc. So that means I can quickly lookup and find out all the different info about the streams and segments.