Moving Records from One Form to Another

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author

John Pullyblank
    Participant

Like many, I am moving away from Bento now that it is not working well with Yosemite.

As a Psychologist, my workflow consists of 3 databases/forms: Bookings, Work in Progress, and Completed Work, all with identical fields. Each database has a number of complex searches attached to it.

I’m having 2 problems moving over to Tap Forms from Bento. The first is that Tap Forms 3.0 is unusably slow, particularly with the 12 fields X 5645 records, and growing, Completed Work. I understand that this will be repaired in 3.0.1.

The other issue is being able to move records (remember the fields are carefully identical) from one database to another. In looking at how to do this, I found some 2013 material in the forum that said this was not permitted as it would be a mess with dissimilar fields. Is this still the case, or is there now a way to move records between databases. Like the 2013 user, I am not interested in having one super-database, but really, really want 3 separate databases that I move records among.

Help is appreciated,

John

November 10, 2014 at 10:39 AM #11684

Leo
    Participant

Hi,

Create selection
    export the records you want to move tot CSV. UTF-8, semicolon delimited, No recordID, field tags on.

import the records and select the form you want to move the record in. (DEFAULT = NEW FORM) Make sure the settings are the same as with the export.

Delete selection

I believe this gets things done

Leo

November 10, 2014 at 1:23 PM #11688

Brendan
    Keymaster

Hi John,

Is it not sufficient to create multiple saved searches which filter your records into different lists? Most customers that ask me about moving records to separate forms aren’t aware of the ability to filter their forms using saved searches.

Thanks,

Brendan

November 10, 2014 at 1:56 PM #11692

John Pullyblank
    Participant

Thanks to both Leo and Brendan for your responses.