Inventory barcode scanning – assign box/ placement

Tap Forms – Organizer Database App for Mac, iPhone, and iPad Forums Using Tap Forms Inventory barcode scanning – assign box/ placement

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

Max Heart
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I am new to Tap Forms. I purchased it to create a home inventory of the stuff I have at home (of course, way too much stuff …).

Here’s my setup: I created three forms. First one is for the individual items. The second one is for the box the item is located in and the third one is for the location in a certain room or a shelf location. Form 2 is linked to form 1 (one box, many items) and form 3 is linked to form 2 (one location, many boxes).

The items (form 1) have a barcode label and boxes (form 2) have QR labels. Each of them are unique identifiers. Items are numbered A001, A002, … and boxes Box001, Box002, etc.

Here’s my challenge: Is it possible to assign an item to a box just by scanning first the item and then have the Tap Forms iOS app asking me to scan box QR code? That would be fantastic. Next level would be to use this for checking in and out items from boxes.

Best regards from Germany, Max

December 3, 2019 at 1:11 AM #38443

Brendan
    Keymaster

Hi Max,

The barcode scanner in Tap Forms can be used for two purposes.

1) to search for records.
    2) to enter data into a field in a record.

There’s no functionality to automate the user interface like that so that when you scan one barcode, Tap Forms then asks you to scan the next. You would have to just tap on the different fields and then display the barcode scanner yourself to scan the barcodes into the fields.

You can do it, but it just wouldn’t be automated like you’re asking for.

Thanks,

Brendan

December 3, 2019 at 7:35 AM #38449

Daniel Leu
    Participant