How to get xml parse data?

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author

Kenji Sugimoto
    Participant

Hello, I’m a elder Tap Forms beginner.
    Basically, I am using Tap Forms for manage of books.
    Now, I am trying to write scripts for get books information from National Diet Library, Japan. Its output is XML format.
    So, I need XML parsing, But I have no ideas to parse it. If Tap Forms Utils has utils.getXMLFromUrl() like a utils.getJSONUrl() or utils.getTextUrl(), it is useful.
    Now, I am getting data using utils.getTextUrl() from site. and trying to parse XML data. I know there is XML parser in DOM. But I don’t know how to use it . The pioneers of Tap Forms Scripts, Would you please advice me good solution.

Regards. Kenji.

October 12, 2019 at 4:58 PM #37084

Daniel Leu
    Participant

It might be helpful if you provided the URL you use to get the XML data. This way, one might be able to provide with a working solution.

October 12, 2019 at 5:33 PM #37085

Brendan
    Keymaster

XML Parsing is really complicated unfortunately. There’s so many ways to do it. That’s why Tap Forms has just JSON parsing built-in. It’s easy and built-in to iOS and macOS to return a dictionary given some JSON structured data.

But yes, it would be helpful to get the URL as Daniel suggested. If we could see what the structure of the XML is, it might help to figure out a solution.

But often when you have a web API for getting data, they can have different formats you can specify with a parameter on the URL. Is there anything like that with the web service you’re using Kenji?

October 12, 2019 at 6:48 PM #37093

Sam Moffatt
    Participant

XML is hard because inherently the structure doesn’t easily map to a JavaScript object unlike JSON which is technically JavaScript. I looked for a JS native XML option but most seemed to suggest using the browser based DOM handlers which doesn’t work for Tap Forms and Apple’s JavaScriptCore.