Help parsing ocr to form fields

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

Simon Spiers
    Participant
    I’ve been using Tap Forms for a few years as a digital log book of patients. The primary purpose is to capture billing details. Prompted by watching Sam’s excellent video on OCR Receipt Extraction. I’d like to have a script to auto populate fields with the OCR from a scan of the patient’s ID label.
    My current workflow is to scan a patient’s hospital label with my iPhone, transfer it to the photo field in a new TF record before manually entering data from the scanned image. It’s the digital equivalent of sticking a label in a book in order to annotate it with other data like start and finish times, items, etc.
    What I’d like to do is scan the label with my iPhone (I use Scanner Pro which does a pretty reliable OCR), create a new record in TF that contains the image in a photo field and the OCR’d text in a notes field, then use a form script to automatically populate fields in the TF form. Because the data is sensitive I want to keep it encrypted, only on my own devices and synced using near field only.
    Let me show an example.
    The same fictional patient on different hospital labels gives OCR text:
    HEELER, MR Bandit
    MRN: OT000123456
    DOB: 04/09/1978 Age: 44 (M)
    10 CATTLEDOG ROAD
    BETOOTA HEIGHTS 4483
    Home Ph: 0491 577 426
    MC: 2123456791
    S/Net No:
    DVA:
    BETOOTA PRIVATE
    Adm No
    CT04589023
    Adm Date: 12/01/24
    13:48
    Att Dr: Fixem, Ayecan S
    Ref Dr: Payne, Ophelia M
    Fund: HFHHF
    MC Exp: 05/2028 MC Ref: 1
    Pen No:
    0038708Y
    AD: 12/01/2024
    Adm No. 4589023
    HEELER, MR Bandit
    10 Cattledog Rd
    Betoota Heights, QLD 4483
    PH: 0491577426 M: 0491577426
    MC: 2123456791/1 Exp:05/2028
    CL: PI HHF/T 50006000
    PC NIL
    AD: 12/01/2024
    FIXEM, DR AYECAN
    UR: 123456
    Adm No. 4589023
    DOB: 04/09/1978 (44Y)
    MAR: M
    BET 0038708Y