Creating a simple checklist via csv import

Tap Forms – Organizer Database App for Mac, iPhone, and iPad Forums Using Tap Forms Creating a simple checklist via csv import

Tagged: ,

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

Shrimpfarmer
    Participant

Sorry but I am a bit new to this import thing. :) Could someone please help me to set up a simple checklist that I can tick off when something has been packed or not.

If I create a new form, use the name of each item I want to remember as a separate field name, then make each fields data a check mark, I get the exact form I want to use. i.e. a simple list of items I can tap to either show done or not done.

How would I go about creating the csv file for several hundred of these items so that I can use the import feature.

I know how to create a csv file using my spreadsheet and I have managed to upload and import a file, but I am lost how I create the checklist I want as described above. Is this possible to create using an import file ?

Hope so.

By the way, I simply love what you have managed to produce. Its a superb piece of software although it takes a little while to get used to.

Well done.

March 15, 2010 at 7:17 PM #3992

Brendan
    Keymaster

Hello Shrimpfarmer,

If you format your CSV file as follows, then Tap Forms will create a form for you just as you want it and fill in the values:

Item Name<text>,Is Packed<check_mark>,Is New<check_mark>

iPod touch 32 GB,Y,N

iPhone 3GS 16 GB,N,Y

etc… you can actually use Y,y,N,n,true,false,yes,no,0,1 to represent true or false in the check mark fields.

The words between angled brackets tell Tap Forms what kind of field to create before importing the data in the subsequent rows. That will allow Tap Forms to recognize the field types and deal with the data appropriately.

Hope that makes sense!

And thanks for the compliments!

Brendan

March 15, 2010 at 9:23 PM #3993

Shrimpfarmer
    Participant