Consultation billing DB

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author

GLS
    Participant

Hello,
    I am pretty new to Tapforms, coming from extensive use of MS Access on PC, some SQL, and minor Bento and Filemaker experience on Mac.

I am going around in circles without finding a way to solve a problem in a relational database that I am designing for billing consultations.

Here is the basic design:
    One form (Clients) contains the client information.
    This is linked to a Form (Consultations) in a 1-many fashion as a client can have multiple consultations, and this works perfectly.
    I created a form (Invoice) to send out the bills. It links 1 to many to the Consultations form and has a linked table for the consultations records.

The Clients form links 1-many to Invoice as a client can have multiple invoices.

I would like to generate invoices for a client for consultations that are not yet billed (Billed field unchecked in the consultation record).

Currently in the Client form I can add an invoice, but the linked Consultations table in the Invoice form stays empty (I can however manually add the records).

Is there a way to automatically displaying the records of unbilled consultations for the client in the Invoice consultation table?

Ideally it would be grand to update to “checked” the billed consultation for the client upon finishing the invoice…

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you,

GLS

January 18, 2021 at 4:07 PM #43243

Sam Moffatt
    Participant

I’d probably handle this with a combination of a saved search and scripting.