Advice needed please regarding syncing data with iCloud

Tap Forms – Organizer Database App for Mac, iPhone, and iPad Forums Using Tap Forms Advice needed please regarding syncing data with iCloud

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

meddle
    Participant

Hi,

First of all just wanted to say thank you for the fantastic app. I have been using this for a few years now on both the iPhone and iPad and have always found it rock solid in terms of looking after my personal data.

I have a few questions about how I could possibly get this to work in my office environment. We were originally looking at developing a database specifically to record inventories and maintenance records. I thought how easy would it be to use Tapforms rather than try and create something with Access etc..

Wanted I wanted to ask is your advice on how I could get this to work between a team of say 6 people. What we would like to do is purchase a copy for the MAC so we can set custom layouts etc.. but do most of the day to day work using our iPads or iPhones. I was not sure how quick the iCloud sync would be, for instance if I am updating a record on the iphone, how long does it take to sync that update to the database on the MAC.

In addition when using iCloud am I correct in assuming that the database will only sync with Iphones/Ipads/Macs that are all owned by the same user. Or is their a way to allow syncing a database to perhaps 6 people each with their own personal IOS device.

Also would there be a way to customise a printed list of stock, using only certain fields or photos so that a PDF catalogue could be produced to share with work employees whom do not have the software.

I was hoping that Tapforms could do something along the lines of Filemaker server, with the iCloud almost acting as a server. Filemaker seems like a solid option but its so expensive and I am already so familiar with Tapforms.